(KCH version)

Words & Music:

Ira & George Gershwin & Dubose Heyward

Arr. Kristin Hall


This is a combination of the original & Janis Joplin versions, arranged so I could play it solo with guitar.  I do play the classic Big Brother guitar lines at the beginning & end, but in Am instead of the original Gm, of course.  I take many liberties with where the words go, so the arrangement above is just an approximate, simple version of what I actually do on stage.



      Am  Am/G#  Am/G Am/F#  Am/F             Am  Am/G#  Am/G  Am/F#  Am/F

Summertime-------------------and the living's easy.

         Dm    Dm7                 E  F/E  E  E7

Fish are jumping and the cotton is high

             Am  Am/G#  Am/G Am/F#  Am/F              Am Am/G# Am/G Am/F# Am/F

Your daddy's rich--------------- and your mama's good-looking.

    C                     E     E7  Am   E+

So, hush, little darling, don't you cry.




One of these mornings you're gonna rise up singing.

You're gonna spread your wings and take to the sky.

Until that morning nothing's gonna harm you, now.

So, hush, little darling, don't you cry.


Back to the Songbook Index.

This page's content is copyrighted ©1977-2008 by Kristin C. Hall. Please drop me a line (via "dink (at) media (dot) mit (dot) edu") if you wish to use it or link to it or correct it! Please send comments, suggestions, fixes and general mischievious mayhem to the web diva via the above email address. (sorry, spambots have forced me to remove my automatic mail link.) Many thanks...and enjoy!

Note to lawyers and any other litigious-minded folk:
I am not trying to screw anyone out of royalties, etc. I have posted these only as a helpful resources for teachers, camp counselors and people who like to "sing along with Mitch", if you will. If you do not want your work posted to these pages, please just email me (via "dink (at) media (dot) mit (dot) edu") and I shall remove it.