After You've Gone

Words & Music:

Henry Creamer & Turner Layton


There is an arrangement of this in the September 2005 issue of Acoustic Guitar.


Eb               Ebm

After you've gone and left me crying;

Bb                G7

After you've gone, there's no denying

C7               F7

You'll feel blue, you'll feel sad.

Bb                                      Bb7

You've missed the dearest friend you've ever had.


Eb                   Ebm

There'll come a time, don't you forget it,

Bb                  G7

There'll come a time when you'll regret it.

Cm   G7  Cm               Ab7

Some day, when you grow lonely,

Bb              D7                  Gm              A7

Your heart will break like mine and you'll want me only.

Bb             G7  C7             F7   Bb  Fm  Bb7

After you've gone, after you've gone away.


After we paid our dues together,

You should have stayed through all that nasty weather.

Someday, while you're feeling badly,

You'll need the only one that loves you so madly.

But I'll be gone, yes, I'll be gone to stay.

Yeah, after I've gone, after I've gone away.  [end on Eb]


Back to the Songbook Index.

This page's content is copyrighted ©1977-2008 by Kristin C. Hall. Please drop me a line (via "dink (at) media (dot) mit (dot) edu") if you wish to use it or link to it or correct it! Please send comments, suggestions, fixes and general mischievious mayhem to the web diva via the above email address. (sorry, spambots have forced me to remove my automatic mail link.) Many thanks...and enjoy!

Note to lawyers and any other litigious-minded folk:
I am not trying to screw anyone out of royalties, etc. I have posted these only as a helpful resources for teachers, camp counselors and people who like to "sing along with Mitch", if you will. If you do not want your work posted to these pages, please just email me (via "dink (at) media (dot) mit (dot) edu") and I shall remove it.